Aditi Chopra

Aditi Chopra is a consultant who approaches her writing with the goal of helping others.  Here she discusses her books and why self-publishing, rather than the traditional model, gives her pride in her work.

1. Tell me briefly about your books – what are they about and what motivated you to write them?

I have written two business books from my personal experience.  The business process management book titled How to Succeed as a Process Professional covers the challenges that process professionals face and provides practical tips on how to overcome them.  I am basically teaching the tricks that worked for me in the corporate environment.  My leadership book titled Ten Mistakes A Manager
Should Avoid
is written from my experience as a first line manager of software engineering and software operations teams.  With this book, my hope is to enable all managers to succeed in their leadership career.

I was motivated to write both of these books so I could help others succeed by sharing my knowledge.  I am of the belief that if you know it, you ought to share it with others.

2. How have your sales been?

My sales have been picking up.  However like I said, I am not motivated by sales but by helping others succeed.

3. Have you been published by a traditional publisher?  Why or why not?

When I thought of writing books, I surveyed a few different authors and they guided me towards the self-publishing model for various reasons.  I did not consider the traditional publishing model.  I am also the kind of person who likes to get their hands dirty and who feels more pride in my work that way.

4. You’re relatively new to self-publishing.  How have you liked it so far?

I love the freedom that comes with self-publishing.  It’s easy, fast and I am in full control.

5. What sort of marketing techniques have you used to sell your books, and which ones have been most successful?

I have used a few different techniques for marketing my books.  I have a blog associated with each book.  I am very active on LinkedIn.  I have recently also been quite active on Twitter.  A combination of these techniques is helping me build my platform.

6. Are there any marketing techniques you intentionally avoided or discontinued, and if so, why?

I have a different take on marketing since my motivation is a bit different.  I am driven by helping people succeed and so my marketing is very targeted towards people who would benefit from my books.

7. What’s the most important thing you’ve learned about self-publishing that you didn’t know when you started out?

That it is easy!

8. If you could do one thing differently in publishing your books, what would it be?

I wouldn’t do anything differently.  I am very pleased with the outcome of both my books and the reviews I am getting are very encouraging.

9. Independent authors face the obvious challenge of marketing their books without the resources of traditional publishers.  What advice do you have for an indie author just starting out?

My advice would be to study the target market before making your book available.  Don’t waste time marketing to a non-target audience.  Figure out who would benefit most from your book.

10. What projects are you currently working on?

I am venturing into fiction writing.  I am working on my first romance novel.  I found a couple of books, Story Engineering and The Making of a Story, very handy in learning the skill of fiction writing.

11. If you could market your brand – not just one particular book, but your overall brand of writing – in one sentence, what would it be?

To help others succeed.

12. How can readers learn more about your books?

All of the information about my books is available on my website, here.